Skip to content

Bar Review – West Tavern & Restaurant – Philadelphia PA

December 11, 2013

Inside West Tavern one

West Tavern & Restaurant – 11440 Callowhill St, Philadelphia, PA 19130 – http://www.westtavern.com/

While wandering the streets of Philie for my one day lay over, I asked Siri if there was a bar near by where I was. She told me West Tavern. It was about 1 mile from my hotel in center city. I walked in not knowing what to expect and I was surprised. I thought I was going to be in some dark lit dive bar with some rough looking people in there, but it wasn’t that at all. There were a lot of people from all lines of work popping after a cold snowing Philie weekday.

I went in and took advantage of their happy hour specials. They had 2.50/3 dollar beers and cheap apps. My entire bill after 3 beers and some cheese sticks were about 15 bucks. Not to bad. Value was good, but unfortunately the cheese sticks were not. It might be because I am not use to the way they do cheese sticks in Philie, but they were as if they got them out of the frozen food section and dropped in dirty oil.

The girl working behind the bar was very nice and attentive. I didn’t catch her name but she was a young blonde girl. When I was there around 5 PM there was a good crowd there. After talking to some people about the West Tavern, I heard it is a happening spot on the weekend nights. I guess they call it “Westies”. There were a lot of TV’s there so watching the games there would be good. There was also plenty of bar space and seating space. The place is located next to a big parking lot and there seemed like there was a good amount of street parking. I am not sure what part of the town I was in, but it was on the other side of 676 that ran through town.

Over all i can’t complain of then the food. I only had the cheese sticks so everything else could be good for all I know. I’d go back again if I was in the area.

  • Vibe:6
  • Beer Selection:7
  • Friendliness and knowledge of staff:7
  • Food:1
  • Accessibility:8
  • Seating area:7
  • Total: 36  out of 60 (C)

There Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/West-Tavern/113076788770831?ref=hl

This has been a review from 84 – The Big Wasabi @djArty84 on twitter and http://www.facebook.com/partywitharty

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

