Skip to content

There are still good people out there, a story of holiday kindness

December 19, 2013

saved pic

I have to say I am very surprised with what happen to me last night. I was about to give up on the human race and buy a cabin in northern Maine and call it a day when something small but meaningful happen. There was a 36 hour period of ups and down and I was on an roller-coaster of goodness and shit.

Where do I start? How about Tuesday night during the snow storm up here in Boston. I was leaving one job to get to another job which usually takes about an hour (yes I have several jobs, unless people start buy ad time on the site, then I can sit on my ass and do this all day). On Tuesday when the snow was falling, the commute from job 1 to 2 took 5 hours. I got to the bar at 9:15 PM when I was suppose to be there at 6. I didn’t expect much out of that shift, considering the snow, but we are attached to a hotel so you never know. I got in to relieve the gal that opens. The week before the poor girl was force to work with a replacement of me when I was stuck in Phillie with the snow there. It was a steady night and although I only worked 4 hours, there were a lot of costumers who were in the same commuting and traveling nightmare as me and share the pain and might I say very generous.

So after a nice quick shift of doing alright, I headed home with no problems because at that point the roads where cleared. I usually get a solid 4 hours of sleep on nights I close the bar. I get up for work at 7, but on Wednesday I was hoping to get up at 6. Job 1 is working on a huge project and I wanted to get a nice dent into it before lunch. Well I closed my eyes at 2:30AM and woke up at 10AM. Alarm didn’t go off and I was 2.5 hours late for work rather then an hour early. I get to work and basically thought the rest of the day was going to suck, BUT I was able to finish everything I needed a lot sooner than I thought.

I was leaving job 1 at 6 to go to the Celtics game with my buddy and co-host. I was meeting him in Boston at the Sports Grill. When i got there they were giving out free Heineken. Free beer how can it be a bad day. Well I get to the game and the Celtics at one point have a 20 point lead, but then found a way to blow it and even though they kept it close to the end, they lost. After the game we were talking to Quincy Market. On the way there I wipe out on ice and slam to the ground landing on my arm hard. During the fall, my cell phone fell out of my pocket and I didn’t realize I didn’t have it for another quarter mile. I finally realized it and went back to where I fell. I couldn’t remember if I had it when I was leaving the game or not and my buddies phone was dead so I couldn’t even make a call. The phone was no where to be found and I just assumed it would be my now 4th lost or stolen Iphone in 5 years.

When I got back to the car in Quincy, about 2 hours after I fell, I drove further south about 20 minutes to my house which then I fired up my iPad and my find a phone app to track it. It said the phone was in a building near by where I feel. It was at the Onyx Hotel so I figured someone took it and they are staying at the hotel. I was going to go back, but then what? I didn’t even know it was at the hotel, it could of been still on the street somewhere. As soon as I sent the message to my phone from the app with my gfs phone number, I noticed that someone tweeted my buddy and asked if we were at the game and they know where my phone is. By this time my buddy was having a convocation with the girl and he had messaged me on Facebook and contacted my gf. My iPad can send out txt message so I was communicating with the girl on twitter, my buddy and my gf. I was told my phone was turned in to the front desk of the Onyx Hotel. It was dropped near by and someone assumed either I was staying there or figured I could track it to there.

So this is how it all went down. Since my phone was locked, no one could get into it, but when you get an alert from twitter or Facebook or a txt it will show up on the screen. My buddy and I host a radio show and I run a couple of blogs including this one and we are always adding people on twitter to help bring traffic to the show and site. Someone I added, added me back and there user name was displayed on my phone “@#@#@ has started following you on twitter”. The girl who found my phone (which I have never spoken to) tweeted that person who started following me and then that person messaged my buddy because he had tagged me in an instagram which is connected to my  tweeter and  said that someone found my phone and got a hold of her because they didn’t know if we knew each other and brought the phone to the Onyx hotel, where I had tracked my phone to anyways.

A crazy set of events had just occurred between my buddy, two girls on twitter we never met before and the nice people at the hotel who held my phone and called my gf when i sent the distress message to the phone with her number. Why did someone take the time to contact someone they seen on my phone and return it to a safe place? I have no idea. It would of been something I would of done, but I know there are many people who would of just stole it or not even bothered. I don’t even know any information on the person who found the phone. I would like to at least buy them a drink for saving me a massive headache and cost. I wasn’t up for a contract so my new phone would of cost a few 100 dollars.

It was a small jester, but went a long way. I really appreciate a few strangers doing the right thing and being good people. Say what you want to say about Boston people or people from MA, but there are good ones up here and instead of my spending the day dealing with getting a new phone and tracking down contacts, I can relax and reflect on a few strangers that helped me out on a cold night in Boston.

84 – The Big Wasabi @djArty84 on twitter and http://www.facebook.com/partywitharty

From → Funny Stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

